Adopting in Nevada?
Learn and Understand Nevada Adoption Laws
Adoption laws differ from state to state. These laws, which govern adoption at both state and federal levels, change constantly. This can lead to confusion and error when adopting a child. Nevada adoption lawyer Eric Stovall knows about all these state and federal adoption laws, and he can tell you exactly what you need to know.
Consent Laws in Nevada
In the state of Nevada, both biological parents must consent to an adoption. A consent is irrevocable upon signing. A minor parent may execute a relinquishment for adoption and cannot revoke it upon coming of age. A consent is not necessary where a court has terminated the parental rights of the parent. If the child to be adopted is over the age of 14 years, the child must also consent. Consent laws include:
- When to execute consent. Parents can execute consent after 72 hours. However, the father can consent before birth of the child if he is not married to the birth mother.
- How to execute consent. Parents must execute consent with two witnesses in presence. Parents must identify the child and adopting parents, and they must deliver a copy of the consent form 48 hours later to the Welfare department. The birth mother must execute the consent before the child is placed in an adoptive home.
Parties When Adopting a Child
When adopting a child, there are certain restrictions. In Nevada, any adult person who is at least 10 years older than the child can adopt. However, married couples must agree to adopt together. The parties involved in a typical adoption include the child’s parents, guardian, a child welfare agency or a licensed agency with child-placement services and the adopting parents.
Nevada does not have a Putative Father Registry. However, if there is a known person who considers himself the child’s father, he should receive a termination proceedings notice. He must appear at the proceedings to claim custodial rights.
What are the Relevant Adoption Expenses?
There are certain Nevada adoption laws that affect the adoption proceedings and how a child is raised. Medical and living expenses made by the birth parents are allowed as long as this payment does not affect the child placement in adoption cases.
No one can bribe the birth mother to consent to an adoption. If the birth mother does not intend to keep the child, then she cannot accept payments for expenses. We can explain what you will need to do after adopting a child, and what sort of adoption costs you can expect to pay. Other laws for management of money include:
- Department or Agency Fees. There is no fee for the placement of a child with special needs. Departments and agencies should charge adoptive parents reasonable feesfor services rendered.
- The court requirement of an account of expenses. Parties to the adoption proceedings have 15 days from the date the claim is filed – or five months after receiving the child – to file an affidavit regarding expenses. This must contain all fees, donations and expenses paid to them in connection to the adoption proceedings.
Adoption Attorneys in or around Reno and Las Vegas
These are just a few of Nevada’s adoption laws, yet there are several more that could affect your case, including federal adoption laws. If you or a loved one is seriously considering adopting a child or using a surrogate, please contact our Reno adoption attorney at Eric A. Stovall, Ltd. who will gladly assist you in your claim.